Ten Pre-Christmas Fitness Mistakes!

November 23, 2008 at 11:57 pm 2 comments

I don’t know about you but I love learning from other people’s mistakes if it means I don’t have to make that mistake myself.

1.Overtraining!

Ever felt like this?

Ever felt like this?

Some people get this surge of enthusiasm to “lose weight as fast as I can”. The problem with this is that by exercising up to two times a day they don’t allow their central nervous system to recover and expose themselves to potential fatigue, sickness and joint damage.

2.Undereating! The mentality that goes along with this is “I have put on weight by eating too much so I will just eat a little bit”. In order to lose weight we still need to maintain a minimal caloric intake and skipping meals in an unplanned fashion simply slows down the metabolism.

3. Gadgets! We have all seen the infomercials. Buff, hot models demonstrating the latest gadget that will get you “ripped in no time” Sorry, that is a lie. Where do these advertisers get off?! No that gadget is not going to get you ripped abs. Ba-Bow! 

4. Overpriced gym fees for the trappings! We do the tour and are wowed by all that is available. We sign up and then realise we have to pay more if we want help that we all need “to know what is the best exercise routine for us”. It is going to cost me a small fortune and they don’t even have an ironclad guarantee!!

5. Do it yourself DVD! I quite like these except for a small problem. With no accountability the average person doesn’t even maintain a consistency for 4 weeks before losing focus. Yet again a waste of money and time without the accountability.

6.Going too long without change! So you workout on your own and you are motivated and put in a decent effort but you have been doing this routine for 6 months. HELLO! change! Your body adapts to the program within 4-6 weeks so you need to change it up all the time.

7. Resting too long! I am guilty of this one so I keep a stopwatch handy nearby so I can maintain a minimal rest between my workouts. By reducing your rest time between sets you will make a massive inroad into your fitness.

8.Not enough intensity! What is intensity? Heart rate is probably the most accurate way to monitor this. 220 minus your age times 80%. This is a start to finding what you should get your heart rate up to while exercising. EG. A 30 year old guy’s heart rate while doing weights should be hovering around 152. If not he isn’t pushing himself hard enough!

9.Following someone else! I have seen this so many times throughout my career. “It worked for them so I am going to try it”! Being all so unique, we need to have a professional assign a workout program that is suitable for us. If they give you a generic program SACK THEM!

10. Put it off till January! What a classic, I saved this till last. “I am so busy this time of year I don’t have the time to exercise and I know I am going to overeat with all the parties that are happening.” Cough Cough Bulls..t.  If you can find the time to do 5 minutes of intense workout it is going to make a change to your fitness today.

Stay tuned for more from Tim James

Checking you out!

Checking you out!

+61422 133 329

Entry filed under: Fitness.

Time for Intensity

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kathleen louise watson  |  December 1, 2008 at 7:26 am

    thank you for the e-mails. Do you mind if I use them for my healthly slimmers group. We are all in the age brackets of 50+ to 80+ so it may help some people to do some movement even if it a small amount.
    How much do your sessions cost and what do you do?

  • 2. yourexercisewizard  |  December 2, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Hi Kathleen,
    Nice to hear from you again.
    I sent you an email. Look forward to being in touch

    Tim

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories

Feeds

Archives

Tim’s Twits


