‘Edward the Alcoholic’

December 16, 2008 at 11:15 am Leave a comment

Well this is an unusual post but those who know me know I am not “normal” anyway.

You see, I was actually going to write about food labels Food-labeland was heading home for a shower after a great perspiring workout in the studio and came across Edward.

The first thing I noticed is he was apparently unconscious lying on his back with a walking stick next to him. I crouched down and shook his shoulder. “Hello I said, What’s your name?”, “Edward” was the reply. “What happened Edward?” I asked. “I don’t know. Where am I?” He said.

The conversation continued and it came about that Edward (an Aboriginal gentleman) who lived with his father had been in the Royal Brisbane Hospital for alcoholism a few times. He had been in the Valley last night on a binge.

He doesn’t know how he turned up at the Commonwealth Bank ATM in Aspley and reckons that he must have had an alcoholic seizure. It ended with him being taken to the Prince Charles emergency in an ambulance.

So why am I telling you this story?

Well I work with people and a huge variety of people too. Edward is a person and he needed help and that’s what I do. I am first aid trained, so I am required to help someone I see that is in need.

In 12 years of being First Aid qualified through the army and fitness, that is the first incident of semi-conscious to unconsciousness that I have come across.

So that was my morning drama- Maybe you have a story to tell!

I would love to hear from you and I can only pray that Edward’s’ guardian angel isn’t tired from all the work he must be doing 🙂

Tim

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What’s the deal with Gout and cherries? My top 5 food label tips!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Feeds

Archives

Tim’s Twits


