What to do with knee pain?

January 13, 2009 at 9:47 am 6 comments

This article is not intended to take away the role of a physiotherapist which in my opinion is the first place to go if you have any joint pain.

If you need a good one go see my Mate -Adam @ Optima Sports Physio on Kelvin Grove Road. He is the best. Hi Adam!

A great place to start is by telling you about my story.

When I was living in Arana Hills as a single bloke I was training for triathlons. I got a crazy idea to buy “racing flats”. They are sneakers with very little weight and no support. The idea is that less weight means one can run faster. LOL

I went for a 5 km run and by the time I was coming back up the driveway I was hobbling. When it came to walking up the front stairs I had to literally crawl and it took all day for me to get mobility back.

The crazy thing is I went for another run in them a week later and finally got the idea that I had a massive problem because of the sneakers. (A bit slow at times)

So I have 3 main tips to reducing knee pain that I use every week with clients and myself.

1. Foam roller

for the ITB.  Foam rollers are purchased at physio supplies and I use the cheaper white ones 90 cm. If you have trouble finding them I know a wholesaler.

The ITB or iliotibial tract is a superficial thickening of tissue on the outside of the thigh, extending from the outside of the pelvis, over the hip and knee, and inserting just below the knee. Rolling along the outer thigh can be quite painful but very beneficial.

2. Appropriate footwear!

If you live in Brisbane I recommend Inn Training at Park Road, Milton as the best place to get fitted out for shoes and NO I dont get any commission for recommending them I just have had great service there. To take care of your knees if you run a lot you need to outlay a bit of money for decent support.

3. Overtraining

If you are getting knee pain then overtraining is something you might have to look at but I am writing from a prevention perspective.

I see so many people running all the time in Brisbane and I believe many see it as the ultimate fat loss method. I disagree strongly and think that the damage far outweighs the benefits. If you really want to lose fat then you should be employing a qualified personal trainer.

Now I can get back to the subject 🙂

In a future article I will write about what tapered intensity looks like in a structured running program but that is not my real area of expertise. If you are running every day then there should be different levels of intensity and you need at least one day off.

This article is not meant to address the full scope of this subject however please make sure you jog easy some days, sprint short distances other days and run hills other days.

God bless and I may see you out on the road or the Kedron brook bikepath!

Tim

condron.us

Entry filed under: Exercise.

Lunch Box Diet?! The Number one secret to staying on track!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pete Buggy  |  January 18, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Hi Tim, on the subject of PAIN from running. I recently bought a pair of new balance from Amart (never doing that again). Went for an easy 8 k and was in sooooo much pain for the next week. I went to athletes foot at chermside and was luck enough to get a runner person to fit me for shoe. Bought some mizuno shoes. Been for 1 5k run and did a 12 k this morning. They are so nice. No Pain! So it goes to show that it is worth spending a bit more on shoes and service EG people who know what they are talkin about, to some longetivity out of these old bones : 0.
    PS Amart did refund my money no trouble at all.
    Pete

  • 2. Fred  |  January 20, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Tim,
    Glad I found your blog…I’ve been working on losing weight and getting in shape for a while now…just started adding running to my workouts. Quick question:I’m fortunate to not have any knee problems, but I wondered if you have any advice for ‘heavy’ runners? Not that I’m so overweight (only about 15-20 pounds to lose), but my mechanics seem heavy. Just bought some awesome Brooks Trance running shoes, but wondered if you have any advice.

    Much appreciated! Thanks!

    Fred

  • 3. Tim James  |  January 20, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Thank you Pete. Yes “joggers” incorrectly selected make your world one of pain.
    Fred, If you have access to a treadmill then use it but alternate with outside running where you can.
    I would suggest following Craig’s intervals from TT workouts as they are kinder to mature knees. In fact the only reason I run longer is because I want to stay semi -fit for triathlons otherwise I’d only do sprints.

  • 4. Bullman  |  January 23, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Hi Tim

    Just wanted to say that you’re a beautiful man!

  • 5. Tim James  |  January 23, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Thank you Gavin,

    That means so much to me 🙂 Especially coming from you..

  • 6. Fred  |  January 26, 2009 at 5:36 am

    Thanks for the advice Tim! Usually run on a treadmill at the gym or on the soccer field near my house. I’ll start doing TT intervals more regularly and save the “longer” runs (only a few miles, tops) for once a week.

    Thanks again!
    F.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Feeds

Archives

Tim’s Twits


