What is that in my Deli meat?

September 30, 2009 at 2:24 pm 5 comments

So I was doing a quick shop in Coles for some protein snacks and I have plenty of nuts in the cupboard at home so I wondered over to the Deli section.

I asked the lady if she would be able to tell me what is in the meat! She in return asked me which one as they had to print it out from archives so I chose shaved chicken breast as that seemed to be the most real looking one.

Here is the printoutcold cuts

Ingredients

chicken (75%), water, starch(tapioca, salt, mineral salts (339, 450, 451), maltodextrin, hydrolysed maize protein, vegetable gum (407a), dehydrated vegetables (including onion), wheat flour, sucrose, spice extracts.

There was also a nutrition label that I wont type out in full but it had 886 mg of sodium per 100g.  That is heaps of sodium people and if I hadnt checked I would have thought it was a better option.

So my dilemma was, Can I buy anything from the deli that is safe cold meats? I decided to buy the roast chook and removed the skin as it has all the salts and preservatives in it.

How can my story help you?

If you are wanting to get lean then watch out for hidden sodium and I found out Deli “cold cuts” are a bad place to get low sodium. If something doesnt have a label ask if you can find out the ingredients. You only have to do this once and you will know next time. I just saved you the trouble in the Coles deli 🙂

We will touch on more nutrtion quick tips in the future.

Learn to read labels and enjoy being informed

Tim James

Certified PT

Australian Kettlebell Instructor

Entry filed under: Nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , .

How to find your way with Google! How to GI “Joe” your food!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dimitris  |  September 30, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Man, I can’t even pronounce some of this stuff. This is why I always buy organic meat. On my way to California, we drove by a Texas slaughter house. That was enough to make us never again by slaughter house meat.

  • 2. martinburrow  |  October 2, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Bet the staff at Coles love you!

  • 3. Tim James  |  October 3, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Martin, I actually found the lady most helpful amd she was surprised at the amount of sodium as well. Maybe I helped her to be more informed.

    Good for you Jim, at least organic will be grassfed too!

  • 4. Pete buggy  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    I hope the ham or silverside are more natural meat. I’m quite stunned at the low amount of chicken in the chicken.

  • 5. Tim James  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Yes, the ham is most natural but I would still recommend going with left over Sunday roast as first option!!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Feeds

Archives

Tim’s Twits


