How to get past the fear thats blocking you!

February 24, 2010 at 6:20 pm 4 comments

As I travelled on the highway the tension was mounting.

I could feel the cool breeze from the airconditioning but my palms were sweaty. I had slept ok but I was trying to divert my attention from what was about to take place. All my life I had thought, “I want to do that one day” and now that day had come to confront me.

We arrived at the destination and after filling  out various legal forms we were kitted up  and then hopped in the “taxi” off to the airport. After climbing in we taxi’d down the runway and began the ascent to our ceiling of 14,000 ft. By now you may have guessed my fear.

As we arrived at altitude, I was taking in the magnificent views as the earth grew smaller.

 The instructor said, “Move closer and sit on my knees. When the door opens I want you to place your feet next to mine then cross your arms.” 

As the wind was rushing by, I did as he said and swallowing my fear crossed my arms. Next second I was falling towards earth at a rate of app. 250+ km per hour.

The irony is what I expected (a butterfly stomach and g forces) was not there at all. I was floating in a landscape of clouds, fields, sea and mountains. It was the closest thing to flying I have ever felt and it lasted for 60 seconds before the rude shock of the chute opening brought me back to reality.

I learnt some major significant lessons through this experience. For years I have held myself back emotionally by not being able to let go of a prior negative relationship and I let it go as I jumped out that door. What a relief!

I also learnt that whatever I am afraid of, if I just grab my feet and jump the reality will NEVER be like my fear. Fear crippled me for too long and it doesnt have to any more!

What are you so afraid of that you are crippled and unable to move forward? I would love to hear your story. Please write in the comments below.

Tim James

Entry filed under: Motivation, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Fail to plan and you plan to fail! Principles of Training (Part one)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BlueHotTuna  |  February 27, 2010 at 6:13 am

    Hi Tim,
    The only time I would get near 14000 ft is if I were in a crowd of 7000 unmaimed people or 3500 unmaimed dogs/cats etc. (although I dont like cats!) or a small handful of centipedes! (I cant say that I am very fond of these either.)
    Is that you in the photo Tim? I think not, doesn’t look scared enough.
    PS. How many feet have you got?

  • 2. Sharon Johns  |  March 1, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Tim, jumping for me has become who I am. I jumped on a tandem in Switzerland a year after Tracy got married.I was hooked before the helicopter got off the ground,When I got home I went to the dropzone and started the process to get my license.I love going out the door and I love freefall.I have never felt so free in my life. It was something I did for me.I waited to long to do it. I am glad you had an opertunity to jump. What led up to it?
    SJ

  • 3. Tim James  |  March 18, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Wow, Sharon!
    What led up to it? Basically my mate said he was going to jump and would I like to join him. That is all the excuse I needed 🙂 Although it is not cheap it is very worth the experience!

  • 4. Tim James  |  March 18, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Bluehot Tuna,

    No it is not me in the photo. Once I get that photo I will send it to you! :-p

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Feeds

Archives

Tim’s Twits


